CBI Full Form, Business and History

CBI: Central Bank Of India

The Full form of CBI is Central Bank Of India. This bank is a government undertaking and one of the oldest commercial bank in India. 

Central Bank was founded on 21st December 1911 and its headquarters are in Mumbai, Maharashtra.


The Central bank has already approached the Reserve Bank Of India for taking permission to open its branches in four more abroad location which include Singapore, Dubai, Doha and London.

In the financial year 2017-18, the bank has the network of around 4686 branches, 4886 ATMs, 10 satellite offices and 1 extension counter.

Central Bank covers all 29 states, 5 out of 6 union territories and NCT Delhi, 574 District Head Quarters and 626 Districts out of 707 districts in the country.

CBI full form


The Central Bank Of India was established in 1911 by Sir Sorabji Pochkhanawala with Sir Pherozeshah Mehta as Chairman and then claimed to be the first commercial Indian bank to be completely owned and managed by Indians.

In 1923, Central Bank acquired the Tata Industrial Bank. The Tata Industrial Bank established in 1917, has opened the branch in Madras that became the Central Bank Of India, Madras in 1920.

Other full forms

Now, you understand the full form of CBI, its history and business. If you have any debut please comment me below in comment box.

If you love travelling, you can read our travel blog here Travel the Nature

Leave a Comment